Army Chief Presents President’s Standard To 87, 41 & 10 Armoured Regiments

It was an historic moment for the Indian Armoured Regiments at Suratgarh Military Station on Tuesday, when General Bipin Rawat, Chief of the Army Staff, on behalf of the President of India, presented the ‘President’s Standard’ to 87 Armoured Regiment, 41 Armoured Regiment and 10 Armoured Regiment, after a magnificent and immaculate mounted parade

National Defence Bureau,
New Delhi, 05 Dec 2017

President's standards
Gen Bipin Rawat, Chief of the Army Staff presenting the Standard to the Armoured Regiments at Suratgarh Military Station on 05 Dec 17.

The ceremony was also graced by Lieutenant General Cherish Mathson, General Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Sapta Shakti Command, Lieutenant General PC Thimmaya, General Officer Commanding, Chetak Corps and a number of senior military officers and civilian dignitaries.  The chief hosts of the event were the Colonels of the Regiments of three Armoured Regiments, Major General Vinod Sharma, Major General SS Mahal and Maj General Kulpreet Singh respectively.


A formation of roaring T 72 main battle tanks, the mainstay of Indian Armoured Corps, displaying might of the Indian Army, was commanded by Brig Praveen Chhabra, Commander of Sand Viper Brigade with Regiment ‘Contingent’ commanded by respective Commanding Officers. This rare honour has been bestowed upon these three Armoured Regiments in due recognition of the dedicated and meritorious service rendered by the regiments since their raising, more than three decades back. In the course of discharging their onerous duties, both in operations and in peace, the hard work done and sacrifices made by the valiant soldiers of these regiments has been duly recognised.

Subscribe National Defence on YouTube. Click here!

Related posts