Modi Sarkar 2.0: BJP President Amit Shah & Former Foreign Secretary S. Jaishankar Enter PM Modi’s Cabinet

Shailesh Kumar, National Defence
New Delhi, 30 May 2019

Narendra Modi today evening sworn in as Prime Minister second time after a thumping win in Lok Sabha elections. President of India, Ramnath Kovind administered Modi the oath of office and secrecy. Along with PM Modi, BJP President Amit Shah also took oath as cabinet minister.


A surprise was the induction of S. Jaishankar, former foreign secretary, in Modi cabinet. Rajnath Singh likely to hold home portfolio, while Amit Shah may get finance ministry after Jaitley wrote letter pleading staying out of ministry owing to his health. Sushma Swaraj did not take oath that give scope of speculation that Subramaniyam. Jaiashankar may be next minister of external affairs. General VK Singh took oath of MoS (Independent Charge).



There are 26 cabinet ministers, 26 state ministers and 9 MoS (Independent Charge), who  took sworn in as minister. There are 6 women ministers including Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani in Modi Government. Portfolios to these ministers are yet to be alloted however an the names seem to be already decided by PM Modi and his trusted ally Amit Shah. 

BIMSTEC leaders along with 16,000 eminent persons witnessed the grand oath ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan. 

Subscribe National Defence on YouTube. Click here!

Related posts

error: Content is protected !!