China completes border disarmament inspections with four countries

China has completed the last round of inspections for this year on the obligation of border disarmament agreements with Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan, according to the PLA Daily.

The newspaper reported that China and a team representing the other four countries inspected each other’s border defense forces in mid-August.

In 1996, the five countries signed the Agreement on Confidence-Building in the Military Field Along the Border Areas. In 1997, they signed the Agreement on the Mutual Reduction of Military Forces in the Border Areas. The agreements laid down a foundation for the establishment of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).

During the past two decades, more than 140 mutual inspections were conducted along the borders, which runs over 7,600 kilometers between China and the other four countries.

Currently, the number of military personnel, arms and military technology equipment are below the maximum set by the agreements… read more

Source: Global Times

Subscribe National Defence on YouTube. Click here!

Related posts